IN THE FIELD: 1940’s Style

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3417

 

While stopped at a traffic light at a busy intersection, I noticed a vintage pick-up truck parked across the street, which had been converted into a street rod.

When the light changed, I crossed the road and parked next to the green and chrome beauty. I only had a few minutes to spare, so I was limited to only a couple of photos. As luck would have it, the surroundings didn’t make for a pleasing background. So rather than take overall photos of the vehicle, I made do and shot a couple of close-ups instead.

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3415

  1. October 18, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    Beautiful! The first pic is just so artistic.

    • October 21, 2013 at 9:08 am

      I like the first photo the best also. I wish I had more than two minutes to spare that day….there were some neat parts I would have loved to photograph.

  2. October 18, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    Awesome! Love doing these kinds of shots but that shiny chrome often reflects what I don’t want it to…like me sometimes LOL

    • October 21, 2013 at 9:10 am

      I know what you mean…I had to stand in weird positions so I wouldn’t show up in the reflections…That’s one reason you don’t see any shots with the bumpers…too shiny!

  3. October 18, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    I also love that first shot. There are so many reflections to see and figure out that it really holds your attention!

    • October 21, 2013 at 9:13 am

      Love the front end of this truck. They knew how to add style back then. This was another tough one to compose so I wouldn’t see twenty Davids in the reflections!

  4. October 19, 2013 at 6:31 am

    WOW! This is amazing…. Thank you dear David, have a nice weekend, love, nia

    • October 21, 2013 at 9:13 am

      I love the old vehicles…they have such interesting shapes and designs!

  5. October 19, 2013 at 7:02 am

    Cool shots! The first reminded me of a visor on a suit a armor helmet.

    • October 21, 2013 at 9:15 am

      Thanks Ted, and hey it really does!!! Imagine being a crusader with a hemet like this…you would be the envy of the whole army!

  6. October 19, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    I don’t know much about cars, but what a beauty! :)

    • October 21, 2013 at 9:16 am

      You know a good one when you see one!!! There are some more coming…must be the nice weather that brings them out!

  7. October 21, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    Nice! That sure didn’t come from the factory with a 327 ;-)

    • October 22, 2013 at 1:37 pm

      Imagine if Chevy did plop small blocks in these old trucks on the assembly line! We would have had the fastest farmers and delivery men on the planet!

  8. October 22, 2013 at 5:09 am

    I like the close-up in the first image. It works very well. Someone sure polished that chrome and bodywork with vigour!

    • October 22, 2013 at 1:40 pm

      Boy I’ll say! I couldn’t include the bumpers in any photos because there was always a distorted reflection of me in the image. I even tried standing about 15 feet away and still there was a goofy looking figure reflected. Some vehicle photos are difficult to capture due to all the chrome!

  9. October 28, 2013 at 5:21 am

    Very very interesting. I know you mentioned the surroundings thing, but still I wish I could see the entire truck. :)

  10. October 28, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    I probably should have taken a photo of the entire truck. Maybe I’ll see it again in the future. There are a lot of restored classics in the area.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

