IN THE FIELD: Sweets

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3622

I’m not a big fan of candy anymore, except for a good piece of chocolate now and again. But while in the checkout line at the grocery store the other day, I couldn’t help noticing the vintage-styled packaging of this brand of liquorice. There were several of these bags hanging amongst the other brightly-colored contemporary wrappers of candies and sweets.

Then I noticed the wording “soft eating” and wondered…what other kind is there? I had to get a photo.

Folks were curious, rather than annoyed at me for taking photos of the candy aisle while they were in line to pay for their goods. Probably because I mentioned the wording on the package. A man standing behind me said he had never noticed that before, but the candy was some of the best he has ever tasted.

f5

1/60th

ISO 200

WB cloudy

  1. October 15, 2013 at 8:46 am

    Silly! I have never cared much for this kind of candy other than occasionally around Halloween eating the red whip kind :)

    • October 16, 2013 at 2:36 pm

      When we were kids there was a country store where you could buy penny candy…hundreds of varieties! They had string licorice at the amazing price of 5 for 1 penny!

      • October 16, 2013 at 2:52 pm

        Back in the day when a quarter could get you a lot of goodies and if you had a dollar you were rich!!!

      • October 16, 2013 at 3:05 pm

        A quarter was my allowance for the week. If I had four of them I felt like a king!

  2. October 15, 2013 at 9:03 am

    Lol. I am more of a Twizzler kind of guy but I am curious as to how the liquorice what Australia’s liquorice would taste like :-)

    • October 16, 2013 at 2:39 pm

      The guy behind me…and a few other folks in line said it was really good. I used to like licorice and Twizzler’s, but not so much anymore. Guess I’ll have to try some and see…maybe someone will want to share…

  3. October 16, 2013 at 5:17 am

    That’s an interesting thought! Soft eating… maybe it means it’s not like old boot laces!? (Some traditional sweet shops still sell a kind of thin, stringy black liquorice over here). I bet you did arouse quite a bit of curiosity!

    • October 16, 2013 at 2:42 pm

      LOL boot laces!!! I used to love the stringy kind but haven’t had it in years. I did get some odd looks from folks. It’s not everyday folks go into grocery stores with a camera…least not around here anyway.

  4. October 16, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    That is soft licorice, chewy and addictive.

  5. October 18, 2013 at 5:18 am

    I remember the hard chewy licorice from my childhood but this new type of soft licorice has been available here for a few years. It is softer and easier to eat but still quite chewy. I’m not a fan as – like you – I rarely eat those kinds of sweets these days, preferring chocolate!

  6. October 18, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    We’ve had the soft types here for a long time also. It’s the word “eating” that got me LOL.

    Chocolate…mmmmmmmmm

  7. October 19, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    Aww, I always get nostalgic about the sweets I used to eat when I was little :) My mum actually bought some last week and I took them back to the UK :) Nothing tastes as good as a childhood candy :)

  8. October 21, 2013 at 9:01 am

    In the old time hardware store where I shop there is a rack of old time candy. As you said the different varieties bring back so many memories. Most of them I haven’t seen since I was a child! I.E. Bonomo Turkish Taffy, Necco wafers, Mary Janes, Mallo Cups, and a whole bunch of various candy bars. It’s fun just to stand in front of the rack and look at them!

  9. October 29, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    I like the vintage looking packaging. I’m not much of a sweet tooth either, but occasionally I like to enjoy a nice dessert.

  10. October 31, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    The packaging was what initially caught my eye. In the same store is a rotating rack filled with candies from our childhood. It’s fun to look and remember. Dessert is good!

  11. LB
    November 1, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    This photo caught my eye. My recent motorcycle accident left me without a few teeth for awhile (among other injuries) and I’ve been doing nothing but “soft eating” for 2 weeks! :-)

  12. November 3, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    Oh my gosh…lost a few teeth? I do hope you are felling better. I can relate…I had my share of spills from both bicycles and dirt bikes…neither of which were any fun. Usually body parts would leak this red liquid stuff and then said body parts would turn all the colors of the rainbow. I’m pulling for your speedy recovery LB!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

