IN THE FIELD: 1950’s Style

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3589

Last weekend I was in another of my favorite haunts…a local hardware store. While I was in line to pay for my merchandise, I just happened to look out the storefront windows. There in the parking lot was a pristine car from the 1950‘s. Turns out, it was 1955 Buick Special. As you can well imagine, I had to get a few photos of this classic vehicle.

I found the owner and chatted with him for a few minutes about the car before asking him if I could get a few photos. He agreed and was quite flattered I wanted to photograph his car.

We walked over to my Jeep so I could grab my camera, and we then headed over to his car. He casually mentioned the Buick was recently restored. In fact it was restored from the chassis up to the roof following the original specifications. It sure was a beauty.

A few days later I sent him a few sample photos via e-mail. As soon as our schedules permit, we will meet at a more suitable location and I will conduct a proper photo shoot of his pride and joy.

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3592

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3594

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3599

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3602

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3603

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3605

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3606

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3610

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3612

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3613

 

  1. October 8, 2013 at 3:00 pm | #1

    Really good series, David. I especially like the clouds reflection in the second image. Looking forward to the results of the upcoming photo shoot.

    • October 9, 2013 at 2:46 pm | #2

      Thanks Mufidah, the lighting conditions were pretty good that day…I can’t wait to photograph the car while it is parked on a nice lawn somewhere!

  2. October 8, 2013 at 3:06 pm | #3

    WTG!!!! Love shooting classic cars…but you know that already ;)

    • October 9, 2013 at 2:49 pm | #4

      Thanks Teri, I love the classic cars and trucks too..they are so interesting, curvy, stylish, etc. I know you have been building quite a portfolio of the classics!

  3. Cynthia
    October 8, 2013 at 4:46 pm | #5

    Cool shots. ;)

    • October 9, 2013 at 2:50 pm | #6

      Thanks Cynthia for stopping by and the comment! I would love to own a cruiser like this.

  4. October 8, 2013 at 5:15 pm | #7

    Nice clean work. What a labour of love that this fellow has done. Great way to introduce yourself, and giving him some photos, too. Good etiquette..Love the chrome reflections even with you in there (the old masters did that all the time).

    • October 9, 2013 at 2:53 pm | #8

      It sure was a clean one…everywhere! I have had more good fortune (not in a monetary way) by asking first…it’s the right thing to do anyway. Yeah…my reflection was unavoidable in most cases…that thing was curvy and shiny…so I just made the best of things.

  5. October 8, 2013 at 6:37 pm | #9

    wow what a nice car…and amazing pics you have taken

    • October 9, 2013 at 2:54 pm | #10

      Thanks Kavita…on both counts. And thank you for the visit and comment!

  6. October 8, 2013 at 7:17 pm | #11

    Beutiful job. I can’t imagine what you might consider a more appropriate setting. Your skill is amazing.

    • October 9, 2013 at 2:58 pm | #12

      Thank you Sheri for such a nice compliment. I figured a nice lawn with trees and maybe a gazebo in the background would make a much more appealing visual rather than bags of mulch on pallets and other ordinary cars in a strip mall as a backdrop. I’m hoping our schedules will coincide soon!

  7. LB
    October 8, 2013 at 9:59 pm | #13

    Nice photo shoot! Isn’t it fun to photograph all that chrome? Cars were so much neater back then … more character, more detail, more awesome.
    I was driving down the highway last week and passed a car of similar style. It was a beautiful, sunny day, and I was envious that I wasn’t in a similar vehicle.
    Excellent post!

    • October 9, 2013 at 3:02 pm | #14

      Thanks LB, isn’t it Gallagher who says “back then, cars had style”. Well they sure did. I would rather stare at, photograph, ride in, drool over, vehicles from the old days anytime before the new stuff.

  8. October 9, 2013 at 1:47 am | #15

    Wow, some of your best photos, I think! I love the reflections – superb. I’m sure the owner loves them too! A real classic.

    • October 9, 2013 at 3:06 pm | #16

      Wow gee thanks Jo! I love to photograph the old cars and trucks…the folks who designed the bodies were true masters at sculpture in metal. He seemed to like them…now we have to get together in a much more leisurely setting.

  9. October 9, 2013 at 5:53 am | #17

    Wooooooooohhh!! I want this toy!!!
    http://basamortua.wordpress.com/

    • October 9, 2013 at 3:08 pm | #18

      Me toooooooooooo!!!!! I like hot rods too…but I really think I would rather have a cruiser. Thanks for stopping by Andoni!

  10. October 13, 2013 at 7:42 am | #19

    A beautiful restoration and your photos are a respectful tribute that I’m SURE he appreciated.

    • October 15, 2013 at 8:36 am | #20

      It sure is a sweet ride….I can’t wait to do a proper photo shoot!

  11. October 15, 2013 at 8:00 am | #21

    Love the reflections. There’s something immensely satisfying about shiny clean chrome :-)

    • October 15, 2013 at 8:37 am | #22

      There is more shiny clean chrome coming! I have been seeing a lot of restored vehicles at shopping centers lately…must be the nice weather that brings them out.

  12. October 18, 2013 at 6:16 pm | #23

    Wow, great series! I’ve only shot vintage cars twice, but I really enjoyed the experience, although it was harder than it first appeared. Your photos are wonderful!

    • October 21, 2013 at 8:51 am | #24

      Thanks Tricia! You are absolutely right…shooting vintage cars is not as easy as it looks…especially with all the chrome and super shiny paint everywhere. You really have to watch reflections. There are more coming…

  13. October 19, 2013 at 3:13 pm | #25

    I am glad you took the picks, the shots are fantastic! wow, what a car, they don’t makes anything like this anymore :) I love the second shot, blue skies in the side mirror :)

    • October 21, 2013 at 8:53 am | #26

      This car is a real beauty….shiny chrome is everywhere. I had to be careful I wasn’t showing up in the reflections LOL. Imagine riding around in this car…that would be so much fun!

  14. October 21, 2013 at 10:42 am | #27

    In the 1960s I inherited a 1954 Buick Roadmaster from my uncle. Once, while passing through Maine, I hit 110 mph with it, the fastest I’ve ever driven any car.

    • October 21, 2013 at 11:18 am | #28

      Neato!!! Do you still have it? 110 mph is moving along quite nicely…in any car!

      • October 21, 2013 at 12:00 pm | #29

        No, that car didn’t even make it into the 1970s. As for speed, I did hit 110mph, but the car shook and the noise was so loud that I couldn’t hear the radio. Understandably, I slowed down.

  15. October 28, 2013 at 5:10 am | #30

    Can’t stop looking at it…! The second shot is my favorite. The car is so clean! :P

    Good that you shared this one. Thank you!

  16. October 28, 2013 at 3:21 pm | #31

    This car was so shiny it almost hurt the eyes LOL. I like the reflections in the second one also!

  17. October 29, 2013 at 8:00 pm | #32

    What a cool find…and great shots too!

    • October 31, 2013 at 12:08 pm | #33

      Thanks Fergie, I would love to own a cruiser…just two things…need the funds and need to decide which one I would want LOL.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

