IN THE FIELD: More Explanation Needed

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3369

Am I missing something here?

Does this mean if a person is handicapped and they park here, a $50 to $300 fine is in their future? Or does it mean if you are not handicapped and you park here, a $50 to $300 fine is coming your way?

I realize sometimes a sign can only be so big, and only so much info can be printed on it. But I still I think a little more thought should have gone into this one.

f 5.6

1/500

ISO 100

cloudy WB

  1. September 20, 2013 at 11:47 am

    Silly! :)

  2. September 20, 2013 at 11:55 am

    You’re missing the point, David. They DELIBERATELY made it ambiguous so NO ONE would park there. As would befit my blog, maybe the parking space ITSELF put up the sign because it got tired of being parked on.

    • September 21, 2013 at 11:15 am

      I think you may be right on both counts!

  3. September 20, 2013 at 11:55 am

    I didn’t understand :)

  4. September 20, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    Baffles me- a fixed fine is fixed i reckon- but John may have a point-obviously whoever made this sign is´nt very used to making signs. in Spain this sign would be like a red rag to a bull- it would be a permanently occupied parking space :)

    • September 21, 2013 at 11:17 am

      I have often wondered why there is a range in fines. Does it depend on the mood of the officer? Or maybe whether the vehicle is between the lines or which way it is facing or…

      • September 21, 2013 at 12:27 pm

        Based on the size of the vehicle? Motorcycle vs. Humvee?

  5. September 21, 2013 at 7:57 am

    A very good point! Someone hasn’t thought this through at all!

    • September 21, 2013 at 11:19 am

      I’m building up a collection of stupid signs…more to come I’m sure! I wish I had a photo of one we saw in Minnesota…it stated “Trucks Must Not Meet On Bridge”

  6. September 21, 2013 at 11:27 am

    Good find! Looking forward to more like this! :-D

    • September 24, 2013 at 9:01 am

      Thanks…I’ll see what I can do!

  7. LB
    September 23, 2013 at 7:05 am

    I look forward to the collection of stupid signs!

    • September 24, 2013 at 9:05 am

      I’m always on the lookout…and I’ll post them as I find them! Although sometimes the sign is right, but the people are stupid…LOL.

  8. September 23, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    It’s not clear. As John says – maybe deliberate obfuscation.

    • September 24, 2013 at 9:11 am

      I have to agree with you and John! Someone in that town is getting creative with their signage.

  9. September 24, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    I suppose that whoever created that sign knew exactly what they were trying to say, so it would not have occurred to them that it wouldn’t be perfectly clear to any reader. It’s a great example for your sign collection. The one about trucks not meeting on the bridge made me laugh!

    • September 25, 2013 at 2:40 pm

      Exactly…typical response would be…I knew what I meant when I printed the sign. The bridge /sign was up north near Ely Minn. There was a tiny old home right next to the bridge. My wife started laughing hysterically after seeing the sign. She said…”two truck drivers stop to chat for a second, and this little old lady comes running out of the house waving a broom and yells ” can’t you guys read? Trucks must not meet on bridge!” Wish I had a photo.

  10. October 2, 2013 at 9:28 am

    Too funny!!

    • October 2, 2013 at 2:43 pm

      Really makes ya wonder doesn’t it…..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers

