IN THE FIELD: Exotics Close to Home

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3197

A few weeks ago, on a hot sultry morning, we were walking the pups at a very leisurely pace through our neighborhood. We headed down a street we don’t normally frequent, but our canine companions insisted. Sometimes it’s best not to argue with a terrier.

The short street is lined with tidy homes surrounding a cul-de-sac. As we waited for the doggies to finish smelling whatever it was that had their total focus, I noticed these tropical beauties growing in a front garden of one of the homes. I didn’t have my camera with me on this muggy morning,

After we returned home with the dogs and they were settled, I grabbed my gear and headed back to the house where I had seen these hibiscus plants. I asked the homeowner it I could photograph the exotic flowers growing in the garden. She was happy to oblige my wishes, and in return I presented her a print of the photo.

f 3.5

1/640th

ISO 200

cloudy WB

  1. September 16, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    How nice of you dear David, This is amazing flower, I loved it. Thank you, love, nia

    • September 17, 2013 at 1:38 pm

      These flowers are huge…bigger than my hand! And apparently they come in a variety of colors.

  2. September 16, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    What a great idea David and a beautiful shot of the Hibiscus too :)

    • September 17, 2013 at 1:40 pm

      I have found that small gifts like that really opens doors…or in this case, gardens. Sometimes I’ll give blank photo note cards rather than a print.

  3. September 16, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    Beautiful! I am sure the homeowner is thrilled with her print!

    • September 17, 2013 at 1:41 pm

      She sure was! I don’t think she thought I was serious when I made the offer.

  4. September 16, 2013 at 6:28 pm

    Way cool on both counts!

    • September 17, 2013 at 1:41 pm

      Sometimes a little gesture like that goes a long way. She said to stop back anytime.

  5. September 16, 2013 at 6:50 pm

    Beautiful splash of color!!

    • September 17, 2013 at 1:43 pm

      These really stood out against the green foliage…and there were so many blossoms!

  6. September 17, 2013 at 2:11 am

    That is certainly exotic! You couldn’t miss that wonderful colour. I think you should promote the dogs to artistic advisors immediately!

    • September 17, 2013 at 1:47 pm

      Apparently there are varieties that are cold hardy. We’ll be plant one or two this spring for sure! great idea…We do seem to come across interesting things when the dogs are with us.
      I.E. the haystacks and many other posts.

  7. September 17, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    We got Hibiscus in the garden, too, but not such a spectacular variety. Ours are pink and purple shaded and surely ain’t as huge as this one. It really looks amazing!

    • September 18, 2013 at 10:09 am

      I noticed some others in the neighborhood but those were a deep crimson or burgundy. They are pretty but not nearly as spectacular as this variety. Would love to see purple ones!

  8. September 18, 2013 at 8:54 am

    so pretty, they look so fragile, probably couldn’t stand cloud and rainy London weather :)

    • September 18, 2013 at 10:11 am

      They are indeed fragile…even the morning dew tended to collapse the flower. Some would spring back as the sun dried them…others didn’t fare as well. Sure are pretty though!

  9. September 18, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    What beautiful flowers. Sounds like a good trade-off: a wonderful photo-op and a print of pretty flowers :-)

  10. September 19, 2013 at 10:31 am

    They sure are…although they only seem to last a day or so. Luckily there were plenty of buds to extend the show! The homeowner was so thankful.

  11. LB
    September 19, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    The flower is beautiful, and I like that you can see the shadows on it, too.

    • September 20, 2013 at 11:08 am

      I took this photo mid morning before the light became too harsh…I like the shadows also!

  12. September 19, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    Very nice, David. I’ll bet the homeowner was surprised and happy when you presented her with that print.

    • September 20, 2013 at 11:20 am

      Thanks Kerry, indeed she was surprised and probably a little overwhelmed. It was the least I could do and the right thing to do.

  13. September 24, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    I used to have a hibiscus by my front door, but the flowers were much smaller. This must be one of the “dinner plate” type. Beautiful photo!

    • September 25, 2013 at 2:33 pm

      Hi Lee! These indeed were the size of dinner plates…I think they were bionic!

  14. October 28, 2013 at 5:33 am

    Interesting and beautiful indeed! :)

  15. October 28, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    They sure were…the blossoms were the size of dinner plates!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

