IN THE FIELD: Farm Fresh Sculpture

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3503

This past weekend we took a leisurely drive out in unexplored farm country. The rolling hills and pastures were covered in green grass and stands of corn waiting to be harvested.

As we drove along a winding road, we came across several fields of recently harvested hay which was formed into huge bales. Curiously, the hay bales were stacked three to a stack and seemed to be placed randomly throughout the fields.

My wife and I have been around farming communities most of our lives, but have never seen hay bales standing like sentinels in a field before.

These stacks of hay reminded us of the sculptures on Easter Island. Perhaps the farmer was in a creative mood the day of harvesting and was thinking the same thing.

f 6.3

1/500th

ISO 200

cloudy WB

  1. September 11, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    Hayhenge! :)

  2. September 11, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    I’m wondering for how long they let the bales on that filed.

    • September 11, 2013 at 4:53 pm

      I’m curious also. We will be moving to the area in October so I will find out then and let you know.

      • September 13, 2013 at 9:17 am

        You are moving again !? I remember you have moved a few months ago. If you are moving again, this must be hard for you…

      • September 13, 2013 at 11:23 am

        Yes moving again in October-November. The home we are in now is just temporary.

  3. September 12, 2013 at 3:10 am

    Very intriguing! :)

    • September 13, 2013 at 11:27 am

      Isn’t it though? If I see a farmer out there the next time we are in the area I’ll ask him the purpose of stacking.

  4. September 12, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    Easter Island was my first thought-then cozy over-sized chairs as long as they don’t cave in on you.

    • September 13, 2013 at 11:28 am

      That’s what I thought when we saw this grouping…big fluffy chairs!

  5. LB
    September 16, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    I too thought of oversized, very tall chairs! What a find! and a curiosity

    • September 16, 2013 at 3:01 pm

      Tall indeed! A good sized ladder would be needed to get up to the seat! I really need to find the farmer and ask why they stacked up the bales.

  6. September 16, 2013 at 6:50 pm

    I grew up on a farm and am very familiar with farming communities, but I also have not seen hay bales stacked like this. Interesting.

    • September 17, 2013 at 9:03 am

      You’ve never seen this before either huh…glad I’m not the only one LOL. My mission is to find out why they stacked the hay bales. I will let everyone know the reason as soon as I find out.

  7. September 18, 2013 at 8:52 am

    Love the countryside, especially rolling hills :) It’s always nice to escape the city and go somweher geen and fresh :)

    • September 18, 2013 at 10:06 am

      There are lots of rolling hills, farmland and pretty scenics in the area we are moving too. I can’t wait to see what will present itself in front of my camera lens!

      • September 18, 2013 at 10:13 am

        Sounds lovely! When I’m bored with a big city, I’ll move to the countryside, grow my own herbs and make my own remedies and skincare goodies :-)

      • September 18, 2013 at 10:48 am

        Sounds marvelous!

  8. September 18, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    They look similar to ours in the UK. These ones, however, remind me of giant armchairs!

  9. September 19, 2013 at 10:30 am

    I bet they would be rather comfortable…they certainly are big enough! Ladder please….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers

