Home > PHOTOGRAPHY: Inspiration and Assignments | In The Field | How To's > IN THE FIELD: You Know It’s Summertime When…

IN THE FIELD: You Know It’s Summertime When…

lr_dhphotosite_DSC2986

Saturday morning I visited the famers market here in town. It’s not a large market, but there are a nice variety of foods produced by local farmers and merchants.

The goods available included all natural grass fed beef, baked goods of many varieties, jams, jellies, preserved vegetables, eggs, cheeses, and milk straight from the farm with no processing. In addition to all this great food were two produce stands brimming with seasonal vegetables, fruits, berries and flowers.

I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a great foodie summer!

lr_dhphotosite_DSC2988 Apricots fresh from the tree that morninglr_dhphotosite_DSC2995
Ahhh corn on the cob
lr_dhphotosite_DSC2999
Freshly Picked Tomatoes
  1. July 10, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    I like the play of shadow and light on the apricots. Now I’m hungry :)

    • July 11, 2013 at 2:08 pm

      This was taken under a gazebo and the morning sun was filtering through some tree branches and into the gazebo. Outside of them looking totally delish…the light really caught my eye!

  2. Cynthia
    July 10, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    Beautiful corn. ;)

  3. July 10, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    Yumm…those fresh foods look delicious! Love the light on those apricots too.

    • July 11, 2013 at 2:10 pm

      And they are…the apricots were picked that morning!

  4. July 10, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    the lighting on the apricots just brings out their warmth and deliciousness and that corn looks so juicy, I can taste it. I like farmers markets, the good food, the rustic labels and the characters that you find there.

    • July 11, 2013 at 2:12 pm

      I like farmers markets for exactly the same reasons! There is always something to feast one’s eyes on!

      • July 13, 2013 at 1:26 am

        probably the only place where I can find a good tasting peach or nectarine. The ones at the grocers taste like wood.

      • July 15, 2013 at 8:50 am

        Taste like wood…too funny but you are right!

  5. July 10, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    Fresh apricots…how wonderful but your photo of the fresh corn is something that is calling my name. It looks so fresh!

    • July 11, 2013 at 2:13 pm

      Kinda makes just want to sink your teeth into those fresh kernels! Oh, and the apricots are so good!

  6. July 10, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    How beautiful… as if I could take one of them :) Thank you, love, nia

    • July 11, 2013 at 2:14 pm

      Don’t you just love the freshness of markets like this!

  7. July 10, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    Cool photos David! Food is a great subject; the variety and colors make for endless possibilities. Cheers!

    • July 11, 2013 at 2:16 pm

      Thanks Steve, I have to go back this Saturday…I was so early not all the venders were set up yet. Who knows what photo opportunities I missed!

  8. July 10, 2013 at 9:12 pm

    Excellent images, David.

    • July 11, 2013 at 2:17 pm

      Thanks Ted, I couldn’t decide which represented the market best…so I posted these four. It was a tough decision with so much to choose from.

  9. July 11, 2013 at 12:01 am

    These all look good, but oh my, that corn!

    • July 11, 2013 at 2:19 pm

      Ahhhh…just imagine bathing this ear in warm melted butter and then taking a giant bite! Mmmmmmmmmmmmm

  10. July 11, 2013 at 3:53 am

    Hey, David that all looks rather yummy-enjoy :)

    • July 11, 2013 at 2:19 pm

      It sure was/is…I’m going back this weekend for another supply!

  11. July 12, 2013 at 4:11 am

    Delightful post. I love the light on the apricots; they look luscious!

    • July 12, 2013 at 2:47 pm

      Thanks Meanderer, I can’t wait until tomorrow to see what’s new at the market. Oh…the apricots…they are luscious!

  12. July 12, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    Great images!! I would have loved to sample some of the Jelly from the first photo :-)

    • July 13, 2013 at 11:21 am

      They do look yummy don’t they…I was there this morning and forgot to stop in their booth. I was focused on the produce today…and cookies, and cheese….

  13. July 13, 2013 at 2:44 am

    These images are superb! You can almost smell the freshness. I love these kind of markets too.

    • July 13, 2013 at 11:24 am

      Thanks Jo, there were even more goodies on display this morning. I’d rather shop in places like this…support the local economy and the folks are just so darn friendly!

  14. July 13, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    Yummy, yummy!!
    :)

    • July 14, 2013 at 10:47 am

      Sure is! I was there yesterday and got some more goodies!

  15. July 14, 2013 at 4:36 am

    The farmers market is great! I like seeing all the fresh produce.
    Great shots!

    • July 14, 2013 at 10:49 am

      I love these places…everything is so fresh. The all natural no icky processing cheeses are soooooo good! Best part is this market is only a few hundred feet from our place!

  16. July 15, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    LUSCIOUS photos, David. You could be a food photographer! We have a large farmers market that operates every Wed. and Sat.

    • July 15, 2013 at 2:52 pm

      Aren’t these place the best! It sure has been tasty around here! I’m going to the farm for some raw milk this week…and the farms cheese is sooooooo yummy. The vegetables and fruit have been outstanding…peaches and blueberries this week!

    • July 15, 2013 at 3:10 pm

      Food photographer….hmmmmmmmm

  17. August 3, 2013 at 11:24 am

    yum!! My favourite is the sweet corn, looks sooooo yummy :)

    • August 4, 2013 at 12:14 pm

      I know…I love it too! I was at the market yesterday for some farm fresh eggs. Got the eggs, and some veggies, pastries, some fresh meat, nectarines that were just picked, a cantaloupe and some homemade cheese. Yummy fresh food!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers

