Home > PHOTOGRAPHY: Inspiration and Assignments | In The Field | How To's > IN THE FIELD: When We Weren’t Looking

IN THE FIELD: When We Weren’t Looking

lr_dhphotositeDSC_2319

A few days ago we discovered this little columbine plant growing in a very odd place. It took up residence behind a bush next to the garage.

We checked on it every morning to see how it was growing and wondered if and when it would bloom. One night last week while we were sleeping, the plant sent up stems and came into flower. The following morning we walked past the garage as we left to go on a puppy walk and were greeted with a wonderful surprise. There it was…as pretty as could be.

f5.3

1/800th

ISO 200

cloudy WB

  1. June 6, 2013 at 1:26 pm | #1

    Amazing sometimes where plants will grow. Great shot!

    • June 6, 2013 at 1:34 pm | #2

      It is amazing where they decide to set up home isn’t it. Sure is a pretty little thing, and thanks Teri.

  2. June 6, 2013 at 2:41 pm | #3

    How pretty, David! Columbines (aquilegias) are wonderful plants.

    • June 6, 2013 at 3:09 pm | #4

      They sure are and the variety of colors to choose from is huge…I would love to have a hillside garden covered in them. And maybe to other side of the hillside garden covered in lupines.

  3. June 6, 2013 at 3:58 pm | #5

    that’s quite the beauty, isn’t it? :-)

  4. June 6, 2013 at 5:47 pm | #7

    Oh, a beautiful photo of one of my favorite plants, David. Your story reminds me of the time I discovered a tiny clump of snowdrops blooming behind the dumpster at my apartment building. It was weeks later before anything else bloomed that spring.

    • June 7, 2013 at 9:24 am | #8

      Whenever I discover a pretty plant growing in an unexpected spot, it always brings a smile. I often feel the urge to protect it somehow.

  5. June 6, 2013 at 5:51 pm | #9

    So pretty–the lighting makes it stand out even more.

    • June 7, 2013 at 9:25 am | #10

      This shot was taken in mid-morning before the flowers were shaded by the bush. I also took some shots in late afternoon when they had been shaded all day. Pretty, but not as dramatic.

  6. June 6, 2013 at 10:21 pm | #11

    Beautiful blossom!

    • June 7, 2013 at 9:27 am | #12

      I would bet you’re probably used to seeing these guys in the wild! I imagine seeing them throughout the forest floor and on the hillsides of fields.

  7. June 7, 2013 at 1:41 am | #13

    I love columbines too! There’s something fairy-like about them. Beautiful photo and a nice find!

    • June 7, 2013 at 9:30 am | #14

      There is something fairy-like about them. They are so dainty. This plant has been blooming for two weeks now and is such a nice thing to see when rounding the garage.

  8. June 7, 2013 at 11:03 pm | #15

    Beautiful, the lighting really gives it a soft look!

    • June 8, 2013 at 1:30 pm | #16

      Thanks Donna, the soft look is most likely due to the early morning light. I took the shot around 8:30 or so just after we got back from the doggie walk.

  9. June 8, 2013 at 2:02 am | #17

    Very nice photo. They grow like crazy around here but never the less a great flower and you have done it proud.
    Gerry

    • June 8, 2013 at 1:31 pm | #18

      Hi Gerry! Thanks a bunch. I can only imagine what it must look like having these blooming all over the place!

  10. June 8, 2013 at 5:49 am | #19

    You are a true plant lover David :) Such a delicate flower, beautiful!

    • June 8, 2013 at 1:37 pm | #20

      Thanks Kristina, I guess I do tend to photograph the plant kingdom a lot (big smile). I think it’s because when we were little kids, my Mom used to let us plant whatever we wanted in her garden. She would give us (me and my three sisters) about four feet each to go crazy with. The love of gardening has stayed with us all these years.

  11. June 8, 2013 at 11:53 am | #22

    What a nice and pretty surprise.

    • June 8, 2013 at 1:39 pm | #23

      It sure was…and it’s still blooming even after the monsoons we had yesterday!!! I want a whole hillside of these wonderful flowers!

  12. June 8, 2013 at 1:55 pm | #24

    Aren’t the little Granny’s Bonnets pretty? Such beautiful colour combinations. I love how they pop back up year after year.
    My Mum did the same! We all had our own plots. I remember growing a plant with a wonderful smell but quite uninteresting flowers…. Name begins with M but escapes me….:)

    • June 9, 2013 at 10:56 am | #25

      They sure are, and I’ve never heard them called Granny’s Bonnets before. I like that! Aren’t those great memories of our childhood? Plant names…If I don’t see the plant and say the name several times throughout the season, the names of them tend to stay deeply buried in the old memory banks. And I used to work for a wholesale plant nursery LOL.

  13. June 8, 2013 at 5:00 pm | #26

    I love the sun in the foreground and the shade in the back. You’ve really picked up your pace of posting since April. Glad to have you back behind the lens (so frequently)!

    • June 9, 2013 at 11:01 am | #27

      I had to squeeze between the garage and the plant to get this shot. The shaded area is the holly bush in the background. This was taken handheld since no tripod of any size would have fit back there. Luckily there was plenty of light enabling the use of a fast shutter speed. And it’s great to be posting more often…I really missed all you folks!

      • June 9, 2013 at 4:12 pm | #28

        And WE were left out standing IN THE FIELD with no guide. :)

  14. June 11, 2013 at 1:11 pm | #29

    That’s lovely!
    We have the dark blue/purple columbine growing in our yard…and they do spread very quickly!
    I really like the subtle purple color in your photograph.

    • June 11, 2013 at 3:23 pm | #30

      Thanks Fergie, I can’t wait till we move…I’m going to set aside an area of the yard so columbines and lupines can grow wild. Sometimes when the sun light is directly on the flowers they have almost no color. Once they are shaded the light purple is visible again. I like the dark purple ones also. I’ll just plant them all LOL

  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

