IN THE FIELD: Relief

lr_dhphotositeDSC_2409

Last week the outside temperatures were more like late summer than late spring. Actually it was a heat wave that the blanketed the area.

Since the majority of my photography is done outdoors, shooting under extremely hot conditions can be very tiring. And secondly, high temperatures, and blazing sun are a digital camera’s arch enemy. Sensors don’t play well under these conditions.

So, to get some relief from the soaring temperatures and high humidity, I headed down to a local creek figuring it would be more tolerable stream side. And even though I was shaded by the canopy of trees, it was still rather tropical. But the sound of rushing water tumbling over the boulders and rocks as it flowed down the mountain helped make it feel cooler.

f29

1/2 second exposure

ISO 200

cloudy WB

  1. June 3, 2013 at 3:29 pm | #1

    And now the temps have dropped…at least here they have.

    • June 4, 2013 at 8:32 am | #2

      They have here also…this morning it was only 51 degrees! Let’s hope the low temps last for a bit.

  2. June 3, 2013 at 3:37 pm | #3

    Love the composition of this and the swirl of the water! Beautiful! I do hope you have some relief from the heat soon. I have forgotten what a heatwave feels like (famous last words!)

    • June 4, 2013 at 8:34 am | #4

      Thanks Jo…it was a small eddy formed by the giant rocks. Very true…watch what you wish for! I think the heat wave finally broke last night…had to wear long sleeves this morning on the puppy walk.

  3. June 3, 2013 at 7:56 pm | #5

    This does have a refreshing feeling about it, like the slowed shutter speed but not too slow, which gives this a very different effect from the usual.

    • June 4, 2013 at 8:37 am | #6

      It was nice by the water even though the thermometer read 91 in the shade! I’m with you on the motion effect. I’m not a big fan of the super silky look…I like to let the viewer actually see the water with a little bit of motion. Just a personal thing.

  4. June 4, 2013 at 1:55 am | #7

    This is so beautiful, I loved it dear David, Thanks and Love, nia

    • June 4, 2013 at 8:39 am | #8

      Thank you Nia, it is a very pretty place to hike and walk through the woods. It’s also very popular with the local folks for swimming. Although the water is pretty chilly!

  5. June 4, 2013 at 3:55 am | #9

    What a lovely place to go to get some relief from the heat. I love the curvy shape of the water.

    • June 4, 2013 at 8:45 am | #10

      It is a wonderful place. There is always a good flow of water…even in the dog days of summer. It’s a popular place but I have been there many times and not seen another soul. This little eddy was off by itself away from the main flow of water. The water is about 18 inches deep in that spot.

  6. June 5, 2013 at 5:46 pm | #11

    Beautiful – refreshment for dry spirits, too!

    • June 6, 2013 at 10:22 am | #12

      It’s a really pretty place…and I think the weather empress got wind of me writing this because the heat wave broke the day I posted this!

  7. June 5, 2013 at 5:50 pm | #13

    It looks rejuvenating!

    • June 6, 2013 at 10:23 am | #14

      Kinda makes ya want to sit down in nature’s whirlpool…ahhhhhh

  8. June 8, 2013 at 5:51 am | #15

    what a great picture! tropical weather sounds good to me! Next year Charlie and I are travelling to Hawaii to escape winter in London and I am hoping for some good weather :)

    • June 8, 2013 at 1:26 pm | #16

      Thanks Kristina. Wow Hawaii sounds terrific! I would love to go there someday. Actually I/we would love to just have a vacation/holiday…it’s been eight years since our last one. Deep sigh.
      I’m sure you will have fine weather in Hawaii. In fact…how could you have bad weather there?

      • June 12, 2013 at 5:14 am | #17

        oh my, 8 years!!! That’s a long time without holiday, I hope you have a bit of time off some time soon! :)

        Apparently January – February is the rainiest season in Hawaii, but people said it usually rains at night and the rain is not the same as we have here in the UK, it’s much lighter so fingers crossed :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

