Home > PHOTOGRAPHY: Inspiration and Assignments | In The Field | How To's > IN THE FIELD: Revisiting Familiar Places 2

IN THE FIELD: Revisiting Familiar Places 2

lr_dhphotositeDSC_1780

In the previous post I mentioned how revisiting familiar places often will bring new discoveries. I found a few more during my latest visit to the Hopewell Furnace Historic Site.

I couldn’t tell you how many times I have walked past this doorway to the company store. But I never experienced what I did that morning.

As I peered into the room, the early morning sunlight was streaming through the old window. It may have been the time of day, or the time of the year, but the aged wood was aglow with golden light.

Ambient light from the window was the sole light source in this photograph.

aperture 7.1

shutter  1/25th

cloudy WB

ISO 200

  1. May 12, 2013 at 9:05 am

    Love the warm tones of the image.

    • May 13, 2013 at 9:18 am

      It’s kinda cozy feeling…considering it’s the meat room where workers could buy supplies for their families.

  2. May 13, 2013 at 2:57 am

    What amazing lighting – you were so lucky to capture this. Really atmospheric shot!

  3. May 13, 2013 at 9:20 am

    Thanks Jo, the camera did a pretty good job reproducing what I saw that morning. I love the color of the 200+ year old wood.

  4. May 13, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    For a person that likes a cool blue pallet, i sure am attracted to these warm tones and rustic look. Great shot, David.

    • May 14, 2013 at 3:25 pm

      Thanks Jane, it sure is a fun place to snoop around. The light was pretty special that morning and even the sheep let me take a few portraits. Usually they are way off in another field somewhere.

  5. May 13, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    What a beautiful warm glow on the wood, like liquid amber- gorgeous :)

    • May 14, 2013 at 3:27 pm

      Liquid amber. I like that! Honestly I never saw the room with that light…it stopped me in my tracks!

  6. May 15, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    Beautiful existing-light capture, David.

    • May 16, 2013 at 9:04 am

      Thanks John, the light was pretty special that morning.

  7. May 16, 2013 at 11:31 am

    Very cosy :)

  8. May 19, 2013 at 10:55 am

    I loved this! :)

  9. May 20, 2013 at 4:51 am

    Beautiful light once again, David. I love the warmth from the wood.

  10. May 20, 2013 at 9:18 am

    Yes the early spring light really showed the patina from many many years of use. Although it’s a bit dusty, it is perfectly smooth in places within reach.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

