IN THE FIELD: Neighborly Neighbors

lr_dhphotositeDSC_1836

When we left on the doggie walk yesterday morning, I saw these tulips in our next door neighbors front garden. They were still shaded from the rising sun which really made the color pop. I had to get a few shots.

Later in the day I asked our neighbors if I could photograph them the following morning.

They said “go to it!”

I told them I wanted to ask first if it was okay that some man was crawling around in their front lawn at 7:00 am with a camera.

They said they wouldn’t have even known.

Imagine another neighbor talking to them and saying “K&J, there was a prowler crawling around in the grass right in front of your window this morning. Did you call the police?”

Glad I asked first.

  1. April 27, 2013 at 4:19 pm | #1

    Love those colours and POV-but got a chuckle out of thinking the neighbours calling the police at someone lurking around the garden.

    • April 29, 2013 at 2:44 pm | #2

      Gotta love royal purple! I would bet my neighbors did get a call or two from the folks across the street. It’s a close knit community and everyone seems to notice EVERYTHING that goes on LOL.

  2. April 27, 2013 at 4:21 pm | #3

    What a beautiful color contrast with the green leaves and background! Glad you shared these with us. David!

    • April 29, 2013 at 2:46 pm | #4

      They seem to glow don’t they? I love this color combination also!

  3. April 27, 2013 at 4:43 pm | #5

    It is always nice and safe to ask first. :)
    Nice colours!

    • April 29, 2013 at 2:47 pm | #6

      It sure is best to ask first…especially when there are nosey neighbors nearby LOL.

  4. April 27, 2013 at 7:58 pm | #7

    Now if you wore some camo that would’ve made it even better ;) Love the color on these.

    • April 29, 2013 at 2:49 pm | #8

      I was wearing green lawn camo so I wouldn’t attract any attention from the neighbors. I was unseen until I had to cross the driveway LOL. Aren’t they pretty? They glow in the morning light!

  5. April 28, 2013 at 3:57 am | #9

    It was well worth it, David, that is an absolutely stunning shot. I love it. I am sure your neighbours will love it too!

    • April 29, 2013 at 2:53 pm | #10

      Thanks Jo, it pays to crawl around on one’s stomach at times…especially on someone else’s front lawn. I’ll be printing a three photo series for them. They are super nice folks.

  6. April 28, 2013 at 9:43 am | #11

    Beautiful colours. I have a strong image of you crawling around in your neighbour’s garden – camera in hand!

    • April 29, 2013 at 3:04 pm | #12

      They sure are…my fav’s! I’m sure it looked pretty funny curbside…grown man, crawling about the garden on his stomach with camera and pointing said camera a few inches from the flowers.

  7. April 28, 2013 at 3:39 pm | #13

    How much love these flowers… great image you captured. Thanks and Love, nia

    • April 29, 2013 at 3:05 pm | #14

      Thanks Nia, these are some of my favorite flowers. And my favorite color as well!

  8. April 30, 2013 at 1:16 am | #15

    What wonderful color!

    • April 30, 2013 at 3:13 pm | #16

      I can only image what a large garden of this color would look like…maybe with some pinks and yellows nearby!!!

  9. May 1, 2013 at 1:08 pm | #17

    I wish I had purple tulips! It’s one of my favorite colors.
    When I first moved to this house, I didn’t realize that tulips were deer candy and planted some red tulip bulbs in the yard. We were ok the first few years, but the deer now know where they are. This year, the buds weren’t even 3 inches tall yet when the deer found them and ate all the tulips down to the dirt. This is the first year we won’t have any tulip blooms. Oh well. I have no where else to plant them, so I’ll just let it be. We have lots of deer wandering around our yard.
    But I sooooo envy those purple tulips!

    • May 1, 2013 at 3:39 pm | #18

      I’m with ya Fergie…I wish we had tulips of any color LOL. We had herds of deer at our old house. Tulips were a tasty delight for them and wouldn’t last any longer than what you described. Squirrels loved them too!

  10. May 2, 2013 at 4:30 pm | #19

    This is beautiful, David! The colors are absolutely brilliant. I bet your neighbor would love this too.

  11. May 3, 2013 at 9:00 am | #20

    I was stopped in my tracks by the color also! I’ll be taking a print of this photo to them for being such good neighbors. They really are nice folks. Our neighbors on the other side have been planting flowers all week. Can’t wait to see what they’ve done!

  12. May 16, 2013 at 11:34 am | #21

    Love the colour! Just add a few yellow tulips and you have a perfect bouquet of sprng flowers :)

  13. May 16, 2013 at 2:42 pm | #22

    Boy that sure would be!!! The dark purple tulips have been lasting longer than any other color this year. I’ll have to remember that for a future garden…as soon as we can find a house.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

