IN THE FIELD: Stop, Look, See

lr_dhphotositeDSC_1607

I know I have mentioned this in the past, but garden centers, farmers markets and other local outdoor venues can provide a wealth of photographic opportunities. This time of year in the area where I live, garden centers are my personal favorite.

Whether I am shooting indoors in a greenhouse or outdoors in the nursery, I like to wander around a bit before I get out the camera. By really looking at the displays, I see things I may have missed had I not taken the extra time to snoop around.

This is what I would like to illustrate here. The first photo is a close up of the spring flower blossoms from an Echeveria plant. The second shot is an overall view of the whole plant as I first saw it in the greenhouse. Clearly, the first photo is more dramatic. Had I not scouted the location first, I may have passed by this beautiful plant due to the uninteresting setting and distracting background.

Spending a little more time in your surroundings before picking up the camera is worth the effort.

lr_dhphotositeDSC_1725

Photo of the flowers

f5.0

ISO 200

1/500

35mm lens

Photo of the overall plant

f3.2

ISO 200

1/1600

35mm lens

  1. April 18, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    Lovely close-up, David. I sure enjoyed my visit to the greenhouse recently.

    • April 19, 2013 at 10:21 am

      Thanks Jane, aren’t those places just the best!!!

      • April 19, 2013 at 11:38 pm

        absolutely! It snowed again today-blah :(

  2. April 18, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    This is so funny, I was just thinking about you. You had suggested to me one time earlier about taking my camera to the garden center. I’m planning on going in the next couple of days and was just remembering your comment to take my camera.

    • April 19, 2013 at 10:24 am

      Great minds think alike! I’m sure you will enjoy yourself there with so much to see!

  3. April 18, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    Nice!!!! Glad you posted something was about to send the hounds out to find you :)

    • April 19, 2013 at 10:28 am

      Thanks Teri, It’s good to be back although less frequent than I would like. I’m working on posting more often!

  4. April 18, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    Beautiful images David.

    • April 19, 2013 at 10:30 am

      Thanks Marcus, I have never seen one of these plants bloom before and I couldn’t resist getting a shot or two!

  5. April 18, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    WOW! This is so beautiful dear David, amazing colours… Thank you, love, nia

    • April 19, 2013 at 10:31 am

      Thank you NIa, I think the flowers are quite pretty and unusual too!

  6. April 19, 2013 at 2:52 am

    Absolutely beautiful. The small flowers are works of art in themselves. Glad to see you back in your element, in the garden centre! :)

    • April 19, 2013 at 10:34 am

      I found them them really interesting also Jo. I don’t know how long these plants bloom so I made sure I took several photos. Ahhh the garden center…flowers, plants, shrubs, pottery, whimsical garden art, it’s good to be back!!!

  7. April 19, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    What pretty colours and interesting form those flowers have. Love the first image – so lovely and sharp!

    • April 19, 2013 at 3:39 pm

      Thanks Meanderer, these blooms certainly stood out among the veggie plants, assorted hanging baskets, and houseplants in the greenhouse. Echeveria are native to northern Central America north to Mexico. Or more generally speaking, the dry arid areas of the region.

  8. April 24, 2013 at 9:31 am

    Lovely shots, David! Love the close up shot, it shows the beautiful color and shapes of the tiny flowers.

  9. April 24, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    Thanks Gracie, they sure are pretty. Ya know..I forgot to ask the folks there how long they bloom…darn, I guess I have to go back…

  10. April 25, 2013 at 11:17 am

    David–Your macro shows the incredible beauty and intricacy of a bloom I might easily have overlooked in a garden center (the point of this post).

    • April 26, 2013 at 9:25 am

      Thanks John, there were five of these plants in the greenhouse. None of which were in an attractive setting. They really need to move them to a more visually appealing position so folks can appreciate them.

  11. April 27, 2013 at 8:28 am

    Good advice, lovely shot. Would have loved a macro of those symmetrical leaves!

  12. April 27, 2013 at 9:26 am

    Glad to be of help Tina and thanks for stopping by. Ya know…macro of the leaves would be a good thing…guess where I’m going this weekend…

  13. May 16, 2013 at 11:35 am

    Incredibly beautifu David! Such a soft shot!

  14. May 16, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    Thanks Kristina, I cannot tell a lie. The backdrop is actually the thick plastic of the greenhouse roof. Since it is translucent, it helped diffuse the background which was parked cars and a building. It is a most unusual flower isn’t it?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

