IN THE FIELD: I Met A Celebrity!

I was visiting my favorite greenhouse and garden center the other day with the intention of adding to my floral photograph collection. The abundance and variety there keeps me occupied for several hours.

Before I take any photos, I like to wander around a bit to check out the direction of light and shadows and look for possible compositions. The place is so big I have to take notes and draw a map so I don’t forget where I saw particular plants of interest.

The business is well known in the horticultural arena, and draws people from all over the countryside. While orienting myself to get back to the front of the main greenhouse, I literally bumped into a celebrity named Martha. She was such a sweetheart and was kind enough to allow me to take her portrait.

Oh, her last name is Washington.

Martha Washington that is.

  1. November 24, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    I have to say, she is a beauty, David :)

    • November 24, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      This is my favorite geranium. There was a greenhouse down the street from our old home…they had one that was five feet in diameter and 60 years old!

  2. November 24, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    Yay!!! Greenhouse shots time :)

    • November 25, 2012 at 10:30 am

      I know! It’s time to move indoors for flower photos!!!

  3. November 24, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    I certainly hope you got her autograph, and told her to tell George to put that hatchet down before he hurt somebody. :-)

    • November 25, 2012 at 10:32 am

      LOL I sure did! Martha said she has been trying to get to the “root” of his obsession with hatchets for years…no progress yet…

  4. November 24, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    That’s the best kind of celebrity!

    • November 25, 2012 at 10:33 am

      I have to agree! I much prefer the quiet reserved types.

  5. November 25, 2012 at 6:33 am

    Oh wow, these are so pretty flowers. :)

    I liked the idea of taking notes to remember. Thanks for that, David.

    • November 25, 2012 at 10:34 am

      I find that with so much inventory and everything else going on, it really pays off to take some short notes. Especially the names of plants!

  6. November 25, 2012 at 8:28 am

    That is a stunning two-tone colour. Talk about name-dropping! :D Geraniums always remind me of my gran, who had loads of them in pots indoors and outdoors.

    • November 25, 2012 at 10:39 am

      I love this variety and my gran always had geraniums in pots too! I stared and stared at this photo trying to come up with something creative…and then…DING it came to me. Truthfully, I really did bump into this plant…it was near the edge of the table and my camera bag almost knocked it off to the floor. OOOPS

  7. November 25, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    Love the colors – such a great photo! She still looks lovely at age 281!

    • November 26, 2012 at 8:39 am

      My favorite geranium for sure. Martha comes from a good gene pool, hence the wonderful complexion.

  8. November 25, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    A lovely photo…what a great idea to take your camera to the garden center.

    • November 26, 2012 at 8:46 am

      Garden centers/greenhouses are fantastic places to get a floral fix. All you have to do is ask, and provide a short explanation, chat awhile, and ye shall receive. Perfect light conditions, no breeze except for air circulation, no rain, and healthy pristine subjects, are all reasons to visit these places. Reminder…it is very easy to spend HOURS there, so plan accordingly LOL

      • November 26, 2012 at 8:48 am

        You are very clever!

  9. November 26, 2012 at 3:23 am

    Wow that is one very beautiful photo… and one very beautiful plant…

  10. November 26, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Thanks BD, it is my favorite variety of geranium. They are not rare in the garden centers, just not the most common. When I see them, I run towards them quickly LOL

  11. November 26, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    Martha is a great personal friend of mine. I was introduced to her by my late mother-in-law. It’s good to see her looking so lovely! :-)

    • November 27, 2012 at 9:53 am

      WOW that’s terrific!!! It’s neat that we have the same friends! Yes, she is looking quite nice and she is so personable. I really enjoyed our time together!

  12. November 30, 2012 at 9:48 am

    You are taking this all very seriously! A map! I am very impressed ;) I was wondering if there was enough space for you to take pictures without bumping into other people, but now that I know you need a map of the place, you probably don’t get bothered too much buy other people :)

    • December 1, 2012 at 12:21 pm

      Well, what can I say….I get caught up in all the plant material and forget where I am and where I saw different varieties. It’s not so big that you would need a compass or GPS LOL but it is pretty expansive. It can get rather crowded on weekends so I tend to visit the place in the morning on a weekday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

