IN THE FIELD: Just Because

A few days ago, I happened upon this weathered steel door at the back of an old building. I liked the contrast of textures between the smoothness of the peeling and rust-streaked paint against the patina of the rust.

I wasn’t on a particular quest, mission, or assignment…I took this shot for the pure pleasure of it.

  1. November 9, 2012 at 10:09 am | #1

    so beautiful dear David, Thank you, have a nice weekend, love, nia

    • November 9, 2012 at 10:13 am | #2

      Thanks Nia, and I hope you have a great weekend too!!!

  2. November 9, 2012 at 10:11 am | #3

    Cool! Sometimes rust can be pretty ;)

    • November 9, 2012 at 10:14 am | #4

      That’s exactly what I thought when I found this! I really like the color of the rust streaks.

  3. November 9, 2012 at 1:13 pm | #5

    I love rust, except when it is on my car, but the textures, the placement of the pattern, the colours, and the bleeding of the rust into the paint all works for me. Did you do any sharpening, edits, etc.? i am always inspired by the way you see things and your humour, too.

    • November 10, 2012 at 1:07 pm | #6

      You’re funny Jane! I’m glad to know I am inspiring and you appreciate my silliness. Photography and most importantly, life, should be fun. My photos are straight out of the can. I’m a former film and slide shooter and have always felt it’s easiest to try to get things right in camera. Back in those days ya kinda had to unless you had access to a darkroom. Besides…I’d rather be taking photos than sitting in front of a computer. Just my opinion. I may do some cropping but that’s about it. Some photos you have seen in the past are from slides (Intercoastal stuff) and I did do some sharpening because of the scans.

      • November 11, 2012 at 2:13 pm | #7

        i spend too much time on the computer, want to do as few changes as possible to my photos often just “tweak” the colour and contrast and straighten the horizon.I am hooked and would like to do some creative stuff. Enjoy the weekend!

      • November 12, 2012 at 12:48 pm | #8

        This is always an interesting topic. I too am sitting too much in front of the computer – mostly because I am learning how to manipulate digital photos. Once I have that knowledge a bit more under control, I would like to step back to simpler processes, at least from time to time.
        David, do you pay a lot of attention to your camera settings for the kinds of things Jane mentions – contrast, saturation, sharpness, colour tone (that list is what I can set). Many cameras don’t have much direct control, but have presets for landscape, portrait and so on which do alter these things. I always use neutral settings and then tweak in post, but at some point I would like to concentrate more on getting the image I want, or close to it, in camera. I am cropping a lot less now, which is one aspect that I feel has come under control.

  4. November 10, 2012 at 10:46 am | #9

    Nice rust indeed. Interesting patterns.

    • November 10, 2012 at 1:10 pm | #10

      Thanks Ehpem, this was just a small section of the door…there were other rusty spots but the streaking wasn’t as neat looking. Yesterday I went past a previous source of material and the owner has added a few more pieces of rusty machinery…well guess where I’m off to!

      • November 13, 2012 at 8:42 am | #11

        Hi Ehpem, I do have some things adjusted in camera. I have bumped up the things you mentioned, contrast, saturation,sharpness but not tone. Never saw much difference in the tone adjustment. I have an older camera and adjusting these settings helped the photos from being “flat.” As far as other settings, I always shoot manual mode and never use the auto settings like landscape, portrait, or sports etc. The manual mode is ingrained in the brain from shooting manual from slide film days. Mostly Kodachrome 64. Computer darkroom adjustments are not within my reach…I don’t have the knowledge…that’s my wife’s forte. She is a designer/creative director for a design firm and does that kind of stuff all day and leaves my photos as they are. She is used to me getting it right in camera (most of the time LOL) so she doesn’t see the need to fix things. Not bragging here by any means, I just don’t know how to fix things in the computer… I.E. Photoshop, Lightroom etc. Personally, I would rather get it right when I’m behind the lens. But that’s just me. I do have to admit that folks do some pretty amazing things in post!

  5. November 11, 2012 at 1:28 am | #12

    The rust seems festive for autumn with its golden and red colors.

    • November 11, 2012 at 12:52 pm | #13

      Ya know I never thought of it that way…you are absolutely right!

  6. November 11, 2012 at 10:50 am | #14

    I really like the autumnal feel of the picture :-)
    and taking pictures just for the fun of it, “just because” – which better reason could there be ;-) though a quest/mission/assignement can be a good way to get the creative juices flowing, right?

    • November 11, 2012 at 12:55 pm | #15

      You and Fergie both thought this photo had an autumnal feel and now that you gals pointed it out I see it too! I often give myself assignments to get back in the swing of things…I.E. signs, or I’ll pick a color, or look for patterns, reflections etc.

  7. November 11, 2012 at 2:33 pm | #16

    Ah now – if you can’t take a photograph for pure pleasure, where does that leave you?! This is lovely. I would have stopped there myself :-)

  8. November 11, 2012 at 4:19 pm | #17

    Ahhh good point..Come to think of it I guess that’s why we take the majority of photographs.
    I went past a place recently that has some “new” old rusty machinery. The owner has quite a collection. Locomotives, railroad cars, construction equipment, steam engines for farm use and all sorts of “stuff.” Going to have to make some time to visit!

  9. November 11, 2012 at 5:57 pm | #18

    This photo is surprisingly beautiful given that it is of rust which gets such a bad press! As the picture opened I was thinking, Autumn leaves? But no, a beautifully caught melange of autumny colours and some gorgeous textures.

    I was interested in your answer to janechese about getting it right ‘in the camera’ because that’s what I try to do too. I crop a little or straighten but nothing else – mainly because I don’t know how to but I’m happy with that!

    Thanks again for a photo that set me thinking about rust in a new way! :)

    • November 13, 2012 at 8:25 am | #19

      Thanks MBF, I love finding things like this. I have found that I always see even more after looking at the image on the computer than when I actually am behind the camera. Funny how that works. I too just do a little cropping if need be, but as far as corrections etc…I haven’t a clue. And as you said, “I’m happy with that.” My wife is the MAC computer wizard, but she never does anything to the photos. She says “you know what your doing” and lets it go at that.

      • November 13, 2012 at 9:27 am | #20

        I also find that I often ‘see’ more when my photo is up on the computer. For that reason I now take all sorts of photos which could be interesting and find that, yes, the detail certainly is. Serendipitous indeed! :)

  10. November 15, 2012 at 10:00 pm | #21

    Beautiful abstract subject and image, David. This sort of thing attracts me, too, though I often wonder what people think when they see me focusing in on some piece of rusty junk. :-)

    I also agree about post-processing. I’ve been trying to learn how to do it better so I can if I need/want to, but I really prefer to get it right in the camera as much as possible. And I love what you said about shooting for the pure pleasure of it. That’s the best reason of all.

    • November 17, 2012 at 12:29 pm | #22

      Thanks Lee, LOL I have often wondered that same thought. Quite a few folks must say “what the heck is he taking a picture of?” I figure most folks kind of go through life with blinders on. It’s a shame. Get away from the TV football games and…look. There is a whole world of wonder out there!
      Another reason for getting in right in camera…I don’t have the time or knowledge for post processing with everything else going on. I need to retire early somehow!

  11. November 16, 2012 at 3:24 pm | #23

    I was really puzzled as to what I ws looking at until I read your explanation. You turned a section of an eyesore into a thing of beauty.

    • November 17, 2012 at 12:32 pm | #24

      Thanks for the kind words John, I suppose we photographers look at things a bit differently than most folks. I know you do for sure! I need to catch up on your posts…been so busy relocating my wife’s mom, part time job, life etc. Whew…

  12. November 19, 2012 at 7:11 am | #25

    Excellent color ant texture David.

    • November 19, 2012 at 8:12 am | #26

      Thanks Jeff, down in the valley (Geigertown, Pa.) not far from where I live, some guy has this collection of old small locomotives, six cabooses, railroad equipment and machines, construction equipment from days gone buy, and all sorts of other stuff waiting for restoration. There is a wealth of photo ops there!

      • November 19, 2012 at 9:04 pm | #27

        Oh my, sounds like an awesome place!

  13. November 20, 2012 at 5:30 am | #28

    and it’s a pure pleasure to look at it David :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

