IN THE FIELD: It’s Harvest Time

I found these dried corn stalks and ears of corn tied up in bunches at a farmers market. They are a common sight in this area since they are used for decoration during the Autumn season.

It was late morning when I took this photograph and I was lucky to find some bundles brightened by sidelight. This allowed me to capture definition in the shadow areas without blowing out the highlights. Using a diffuser would have toned down the highlights a bit and the shot would have been more mellow, but in this particular instance I wanted to feature the warmth of the sunlight.

Camera settings used were ISO 100, WB-cloudy, 1/640th@3.2, 35mm lens, handheld.

  1. October 12, 2012 at 9:58 am

    Another “golden” moment ;)

    • October 12, 2012 at 10:07 am

      Kinda seems like a theme…although it’s not entirely intentional!

  2. October 12, 2012 at 10:07 am

    Something about this really appeals to me – I think it’s a combination of the composition and the way the colours and light works together.

    • October 13, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      Glad you enjoyed this little piece of the fall harvest…the light is so wonderful this time of year. Even in late morning you can get some good shots.

  3. October 12, 2012 at 10:33 am

    Another great shot, David!

    • October 13, 2012 at 2:33 pm

      Thanks Gracie, this is my favorite time of year. I do hope we get some good leaf color!

  4. October 13, 2012 at 12:45 am

    Time for those autumn decorations! Nice shot.

    • October 13, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      Thanks Fergie, pumpkins, asters, mums, corn, gourds…so much to choose from!

  5. Tricia Booker Photography
    October 13, 2012 at 8:18 am

    Great photo! I feel I could reach out and feel the texture!

    • October 13, 2012 at 2:38 pm

      Thanks Tricia, They are a bit on the crispy side. I’ll be heading to the market Monday morning to see what else they have added over the weekend.

  6. October 13, 2012 at 10:11 am

    It certainly does look very warm and very healthy!

    • October 13, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      Warm and a bit chewy/crunchy LOL. It turned out to be a pretty good crop despite the lack of rain early in the season.

  7. October 13, 2012 at 11:35 am

    one of the best times of the year around here

    • October 13, 2012 at 2:42 pm

      I think Autumn is one of the four best times of the year…truthfully it is my favorite for just about any outdoor activity…camping, hiking, biking….

      • under the skies of arkansas
        October 13, 2012 at 3:25 pm

        even the cows like it for lack of flies

  8. October 14, 2012 at 10:23 am

    warm autumnal colours.. c

    • October 14, 2012 at 11:24 am

      I love the light and temperatures of this time of year. The light is warm and cozy and the temps are cool enough for a jacket but warm enough to go without one.

  9. October 14, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    That is a superb photo – loads of detail and lovely lighting.

    • October 15, 2012 at 9:49 am

      Thanks Jo, I love that little lens I used…it rarely comes of the camera. The morning light was wonderful that day. Haven’t seen much sun since LOL.

  10. October 14, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    Perfect photo for harvest time.

    • October 15, 2012 at 9:50 am

      Thanks Montucky, this is my favorite time of year…clear and crisp!

  11. October 16, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I love the warmth of the sunlight in this photograph as well. It’s almost as if it enhances to the corn’s current state of dehydration… Or feeling of it. Great work! I guess I’m not signed up to receive emails of your posts… I must remedy this ASAP :)

    • October 18, 2012 at 9:02 am

      I love this time of year…the sun is warm but not too hot, colors seem to be enhanced, and the air is clear and crisp. I think there are some issues with WP because I miss out on a lot of posts by relying on the e-mail notifications. Sometimes I just go into “edit list” and manually check the blogs I follow. At times I have found posts from a month ago I missed!

  12. October 18, 2012 at 12:55 am

    love the colour of the corn and the light. Been too busy to comment. Blessings to you, jane

    • October 18, 2012 at 9:04 am

      Thanks Jane, same here. Too busy to post, comment, and even like. Selling our home, moving S’s mom into assisted living facility,(it’s a beautiful old convent still run by the nuns) me trying to find a part time job etc etc…Hope you are well!

  13. October 18, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    Your picture encapsulates traditional America in the fall. I’d expect to see the image framed on someone’s wall or on the front of a greeting card.

  14. October 19, 2012 at 9:33 am

    Thanks Steve, you described it perfectly!

  15. October 19, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    WOW! I loved it so much. Thank you dear David, love, nia

    • October 22, 2012 at 8:58 am

      Glad you enjoyed this one Nia. I love this time of year…warm light and cool nights!

  16. November 20, 2012 at 5:43 am

    amazing shot! I love sweetcorn, with a little bit of butter… yum!

    • November 20, 2012 at 9:27 am

      Me too !!! And they had plenty of it this summer….yummy for the tummy!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

