IN THE FIELD: Onward And Upward

This past weekend I was on a shoot in a nearby arboretum. The flowering plants have recovered from the extreme heat of the summer since we have had some rain and the temperatures are more seasonable.

While wandering in the gardens, I discovered these rather steep stone stairs. I’ve been to these gardens many times but never noticed them. They apparently had been heavily overgrown and hidden from view.

Now that someone recently cleared them of underbrush and debris, the connection has been re-established with the pathway in the gardens below street level, to the city streets above.

The stairs appear to be old as they have been repaired a number of times over the years. I imagine these steps have assisted many pedestrians to escape the busy life above and to retreat to the peacefulness of the gardens below.

This photo was taken with the available light of early morning. Sunlight was just starting to make its presence known on the upper steps.

ISO 200, 35mm lens, f1.8 @ 1/100th second, handheld

  1. October 1, 2012 at 10:33 am

    This is so beautiful… stone stairs always make me to think their stories… Great shot. Thank you dear David, love, nia

    • October 1, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      Thanks Nia, these were so well hidden by the underbrush, I never knew they were there. I thought it was just a stone wall covered in overgrown vines etc.! I would think there are some great stories they could tell!

      • October 2, 2012 at 2:24 am

        This is amazing of course, I mean to see them! You are welcome dear David, have a nice day, love, nia

  2. October 1, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Wonderful shot, David! I agree with Nia, I am fascinated witih old stone stairs and buildings and think of the stories they possess and the hard labor endured in their creation.

    • October 1, 2012 at 1:04 pm

      Thanks Donna, I was thinking the same thoughts when I found them…how many folks have gone up and down to get to wherever they were going? How long have they been there? Who built them? etc.

  3. October 1, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Such great old steps!

    • October 1, 2012 at 1:07 pm

      They are pretty cool huh?! You should see how steep they are! Going up wouldn’t be so difficult, but coming down…be careful! Funny, I knew the wall was there but there used to be so much stuff growing around them and on the wall, it never occurred to me there would be steps there. ‘Course I’ve never been on the street above the gardens that may have lent a clue, but it was a neat discovery!

  4. October 1, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    I love the “feel” of this image!

    • October 2, 2012 at 1:25 pm

      Glad you like this one Suzanne…it was an interesting discovery. I want to go back before the first frost….there are all kinds of neat little plants growing in the cracks of the wall.

  5. Tricia Booker Photography
    October 1, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    Great image, David! The texture is wonderful in this photo!

    • October 2, 2012 at 1:27 pm

      Thanks Tricia, I’ll have to get some more shots of the walls when the light is right. They are really tall with little plants growing among the rocks and cracks.

  6. October 1, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    Wonderful that they cleared the overgrowth from the steps. I always like the symbolism in a path or stairway.

    • October 2, 2012 at 1:30 pm

      I too like the feel that paths and walkways portray. Where do they lead, who has travelled them, how long have they been there, etc.

  7. October 2, 2012 at 1:48 am

    I love this, with the slanting sunlight and scattered leaves. Lovely photo!

    • October 2, 2012 at 1:32 pm

      Thanks Jo, I need to re-visit in a week or so…the leaves are beginning to change colors more and I would bet it would be really pretty with the Autumn colors of the leaves strewn about! Glad you wrote “sunlight and scattered leaves”!

  8. October 2, 2012 at 11:57 am

    I love these Natural stone steps. Beautiful image – and an excellent hand-held shot :-)

    • October 2, 2012 at 1:35 pm

      Thanks Meanderer, the stone fits so well with the surrounding landscape. I left the monopod in the Jeep that morning…duh…It really would have made things easier….shivering and 42 degree temperatures Saturday morning!

  9. October 2, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    Beautiful stone steps! I like the old weathered look. It’s character has grown with age.

    • October 3, 2012 at 9:15 am

      Aren’t they cool…very steep and narrow but full of interest!

  10. October 3, 2012 at 8:24 am

    These stairs look very inviting ;) I’d love to climb them and see the garden you are writing about :)

    • October 3, 2012 at 9:19 am

      It is such a nice park/gardens. Folks walk their dogs, go jogging of just come and sit on the benches. It’s so quiet and peaceful. In one of the gardens the caretakers hung wind chimes way up in the trees. If there is a breeze, these quiet sounds come from above. It’s really neat!

      • October 3, 2012 at 9:43 am

        Sounds soo good :) Makes me want to visit my park again :)

  11. Nandini
    October 5, 2012 at 2:07 am

    Oh wow wow! Love this photo, especially the maple leaves on the stairs. :)

    • October 5, 2012 at 12:44 pm

      I took this photo last weekend and I would imagine there are even more leaves on the steps since they are starting to change more. Guess I better head back up there to see!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers

