IN THE FIELD: Bigger Can Be Better

My sister has a menagerie of critters in her back yard, and many of them are not shy of humans. You can walk right up to them and they rarely move from their position.

They are also very easy to take care of. She has mentioned in the past, none of the animals have fussy diets, and they really don’t mind where they sleep. As long as someone comes out to visit them from time to time, they are perfectly content.

This shot was taken with my 35mm lens. I was shooting in mid-day and the rooster was in bright shade, so I under-exposed the shot 1/3rd stop to saturate the colors.

  1. September 28, 2012 at 1:24 pm | #1

    I don’t know if you read Julie’s blog but this would be good maybe to keep Tina (her rooster) in line. It will be interesting to see more of her “easy-keepers”. Thanks David.

  2. September 28, 2012 at 1:58 pm | #2

    janechese :
    I don’t know if you read Julie’s blog but this would be good maybe to keep Tina (her rooster) in line. It will be interesting to see more of your sister’s “easy-keepers”. Thanks David.

    • September 29, 2012 at 1:42 pm | #3

      I’ll be sure to show some more of her critters in the future. Besides the critters, she has just the coolest things throughout her home. It’s not cluttered, so you have to snoop around to find them.

  3. September 28, 2012 at 2:29 pm | #4

    Nice picture – the background really works well for this red rusty rooster :)

    • September 29, 2012 at 1:43 pm | #5

      Thanks Stefan, the background is her garden shed and the rooster greats all passerby on the way to the back yard. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. September 28, 2012 at 3:10 pm | #6

    Doh! Thanks for the tip! That is what I should’ve done the other day when I was out shooting in very bright sun. But that is a chicken I would not come close to! LOL

    • September 29, 2012 at 1:46 pm | #7

      Glad to provide tips any way I can! That is one big bird by the way…it comes up to my waist!

  5. September 28, 2012 at 4:19 pm | #8

    Very cool! Love how the color stands out.

    • September 29, 2012 at 1:47 pm | #9

      Thanks Gracie, I took three exposures of this before I got it the way I wanted. The under-exposure was the way to go!

  6. September 28, 2012 at 4:46 pm | #10

    Great tip David!

    • September 29, 2012 at 1:51 pm | #11

      Thanks MD, I try to get things right in camera rather than post-processing….mainly due to time constraints, PhotoShop knowledge, and from being an old film guy. Had to get it right back then…post processing was a darkroom and I didn’t have one of them and there was no back panel LCD! Plus, doing it in camera allows more time to shoot!

      • October 1, 2012 at 8:48 am | #12

        Marcus and I shot a wedding on Saturday and we were talking about the amount of shots that we had taken that day. We started shooting at 8am and did not finish until 7:30pm. By the end of the evening we had taken 2,400 photographs. Marcus brought up the fact that just 10 years ago we would not have been able to shoot this wedding for under $2,500 due to the amount of photographs we had taken. Newbies like us take a lot for granted and only recently have I decided to slow down take a deep breath and try to ensure that I get it right on the first or 2nd shot. But the new technology really does make it easy to fall back on taking extra photographs for “just in case”.. I really do love your work and you share some great tips and for that I am grateful!

      • October 1, 2012 at 9:48 am | #13

        Wow this was great MD. I admit I take a lot of “just in case” shots too. The cost of film vs. the delete button is a no brainer! 2400 shots! Zowee!! I know what you mean! The other day when I was doing the zoom/spin thing I fired off 90+ shots in an hour or so LOL. Thanks for the juddos…I love to help. And for you guys being “newbies” you are on the right track for sure!!!

  7. September 29, 2012 at 4:11 pm | #14

    Not sure of the species but that is definitely some beak! :D Interesting shot!

  8. September 30, 2012 at 1:41 pm | #15

    Thanks Jo, my sister said, “for his size, he really doesn’t eat much.” Who would have thought? He is king of the roost though!

  9. September 30, 2012 at 10:44 pm | #16

    haha…low maintenance critters! Great one, David. The red color is very rich and I like the weathered look.

    • October 1, 2012 at 9:30 am | #17

      Thanks Fergie, isn’t he the greatest. My sister has such neat stuff placed around her gardens. She has some really super sources for garden art!

  10. October 1, 2012 at 12:28 am | #18

    He has a rather medieval look about him!

    • October 1, 2012 at 9:36 am | #19

      Oh my gosh he does look like a suit of armor! Too funny!!!!

  11. October 1, 2012 at 10:34 am | #20

    I loved it, this is so lovely… Thank you dear David, love, nia

    • October 1, 2012 at 12:59 pm | #21

      Every time I visit my sister I find something new at her home. She has some really interesting things inside her home and outside in the garden.

      • October 2, 2012 at 2:25 am | #22

        Your sister is amazing and so creative, I would like to visit her :) I loved her. Greetings and Love, nia

  12. October 3, 2012 at 8:21 am | #23

    Hey, nice rooster :) I was waiting for this post, David :) I know there are more things like this hiding in your sisters garden, so looking forward to seeing them: D

  13. October 3, 2012 at 9:13 am | #24

    That’s funny! I was talking to her yesterday and she got a kick out of the post also. She mentioned there are some new “surprises” for me to share with you guys!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

